About Us
Kentucky People
Kentucky Places
Kentucky Connections
Bicentennial events
Educational resources

The Kentucky Lewis and Clark Bicentennial Commission was established by legislative act (HB 737, approved April 2, 2002) and signed into law by Governor Paul Patton in May 2002. The Commission will expire on January 1, 2008.

Its mission is to educate Kentuckians and the nation about Kentucky's important role in the Lewis and Clark Expedition; assist governments and organizations with their Kentucky-related Lewis and Clark bicentennial events and projects; and perform other duties that will highlight and commemorate Kentucky's significant contribution to this historic achievement.

It is funded by an appropriation from the Kentucky legislature and attached to the Kentucky Historical Society for administrative purposes.

Commission Newsletters

Commission Members

James J. Holmberg, Chairman
David Carter
Kimberly Clay
Jim Claypool
Rep. Mitchel B. Denham, Jr.
John Downs
Mary Elizabeth Hammond
Ed Houlihan
Blaine Hudson
Tom Jones
Chrystie Keenan
Charles K. McClure III
James Mallory
Rep. Reginald Meeks
Kim Lady Smith
Sen. Katie Stine
Warren Greer, Program Coordinator

About us   |   Contact us   |   Get involved   |   Credits

Falls of the Ohio Ohio River Locust Grove Ohio River Mulberry Hill